Music, photos and CTAs

So, it’s been about a week from my last post… and on a cold Monday morning, locked deep inside the bowels of a shady EMS (Economic Management Sciences) classroom… 20 kids sharpened their pens and began to work on a volatile (and constantly changing) government’s single greatest torture device to date – a vile, horrible thing known only as a CTA.

Haha… well, as my introduction tells you in a rather epic manner, Term 4 at school has started, and to the poor, unfortunate kids in Grade 9 around the country of South Africa, that means only one thing – CTAs (Continuous Task Assesment) which means in almost every lesson we have, we’re forced to work through a booklet with every task inside for a mark which composes most of our term mark (other than exams) and the catch being that it isn’t something we’re really allowed to study for – we have to apply the knowledge we’ve learnt over the course of the year to the situation given to us in the paper. So over all, that’s been my week at school! It’s been a little stressful knowing we’re doing something for marks every lesson, but I suppose I’d just have to build a bridge and get over it – a

lthough on Monday my friend Rahul and I actually managed to find a spelling error – (a rather nerdish observation) so that’s Grade 9 – 1 Government – 0!

However, over the past week I’ve finally gotten stuck into making some music in Apple’s GarageBand, predominately using the Musical typing featuring to compose my own loops, as I can’t play a musical instrument, and I must say I’m both really coming along nicely with this (after composing my first real song) and I’m also really impressed with GarageBand’s professional audio production capabilities – it’s another item to add onto my list of why I’m a Mac user and addict! Hopefully this will be something that will really help me with my video-editing and soundtrack work, and it’ll be a great new way to relax and have some fun!

Changing the subject completely, I’ve also gotten stuck into image editing – and I’ve downloaded the Iris for Mac application (a really fantastic app that fills in all the little things iPhoto can’t do – and using them together provides a great way to get some really great photos going! At the moment, I’m mostly working on and editing photos of myself (mostly to create my next big profile picture on Facebook!) and I must give credits to Iris – I’ve been considering Photoshop for a long time, but for the things I do with an image-editing program, it’d be like using a chainsaw to cut wrapping paper, and Iris neatly complete the tasks I need it to, so if you ever need a decent photo editing program, Iris is my suggestion!

So, anywho, I think it’s about time I went back to GarageBand – I desperately want to finish the song I’ve now started, so, cheerio!

Posted on October 10, 2008, in Ramblings, Technology and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

