Valkyrie… Gears of War 2… Far Cry 2… Mulitmedia month!

Well as the title suggests, this month I seem to have expanded my media forte! 

I’ve watched the new Tom Cruise movie out – Valkyrie – and although the

Valkyrie postermovie hasn’t been ascertaining such spectacular reviews, I must commend it as I thought it was excellent – I thought the Hitler scenes were beautifully orchestrated as such as you felt your stomach tighten with sheer anxiety whenever he was about – and the overwhelming sadness at the end when one sees the plot come to an unsuccessful end – one almost wishes there could be a Valkyrie II! If you’re into suspense and a delightful historic romp, then I believe Valkyrie is for you. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much so that I even watched it a second time. Before actually watching the movie, I sat down for a quick 30 minutes and watched the History Channel’s Days That Shook The World, as they featured an episode on the actual July 20 plot that the movie revolves around, I must commend how the film’s director, Bryan (Yes, I know, he must be a nice chap!) Singer, pain attention to detail – virtually no incident on the day has gone unnoticed, and the only issue regarding the storyline that I can think of is that the plot might no have come to as close success as it did in reality 

I’ve also bought Epic Games’ Gears of War 2, which I must say is the most amazing, spectacular game I’ve ever played on my ‘360 – even dethroning Halo 3 as being my favourite game. It is difficult in describing as it has all the right elements in all the right places – the plot, the gameplay, the overall length of the campaign all roll beautifully into a gigantic mix of well… Epicness! 😛 (Although I played with the gore inactive – I don’t like seeing blood that much :P)

A few months ago I aslo bought Far Cry 2, which I also enjoyed. I thought the setting was well conceived, as I live in Africa and rural spots as seen in the game usually aren’t that far away from civilization – so it was something I really grew to appreciate. I enjoyed the open world feeling of the game – and I feel that more first-person shooters should follow in Far Cry 2’s wake. The game managed to leave me exhilarated until the very ending – and was incredibly realistic.

I’ve also decided to can the idea of a Too Human review, as I still haven’t finished the game and now being in my senior phase of school, time is of the essence!

So, thus far, my eyes have rarely been separated from a screen! But, rest assured, I have been keeping myself busy otherwise – my guitar studies are coming along really well and I’m thoroughly enjoying it! Otherwise, I do not have much else to report… I am thinking of entirely re-writing Jorran Skorm now, as I have a few good plot ideas in place… but, until next time, I shall leave it at this cliffhanger!

Posted on March 2, 2009, in Movies, Ramblings. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Good day I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found you by error, while I was browsing on Digg for something else, Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say many thanks for a tremendous post and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have time to read it all at the minute but I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the great work.

Leave a Reply

